top of page

Easyjet: My first experience!

It was an early start of 4:30 am as I was walking towards the terminal entrance at Liverpool John Lennon Airport for my 6:00 am departure to sunny Naples in Italy. I could see numerous dark and empty Easyjet aircraft parked on the other side of the fence waiting to start their day.

As my flight was the first scheduled flight to depart the airport there was not many people at the bag drop area. While only bringing carry-on luggage I headed straight up to security. The security agents were friendly and efficient allowing me to pass through in less than 10 minutes. As it was so early most of the shops were still closed so I grabbed a Starbucks and waited for the gate announcement.


Finally the gate was announced and I followed the crowd that seemed to be heading for the same gate. A cabin Crew member of the flight greeted me and asked how my morning was as she scanned my boarding pass. Unfortunately I had flown into Liverpool the previous day on Ryanair who allows two cabin bags. Being so early in the morning I forgot about Easyjet one cabin bag policy and had to cram my backpack into my suitcase. Personally I think this is a very out of date policy as others low-cost airlines such as Flybe and Norwegian allow two bags.



After getting my baggage sorted I headed out of the warm terminal building to a freezing bus that was to bring us to our aircraft. I boarded my A319 aircraft and was once again greeted with a friendly smile from the cabin crew, who again checked my boarding pass and directed me to my seat which was a nice touch but irrelevant as I was traveling on an A319 not an A380.


I was seated and had my seat belt fastened as I watched the safety demo. Holiday mode really kicked in when the safety announcements were played in Italian. As we begun our taxi I realised we were slightly delayed as a Ryanair flight to Barcelona had taxied in front of us. We were finally on our way as we took off and saw the sun rise above the clouds.




When we got to our cruising altitude, the seat belt signs were turned off and the onboard service begun. Easyjet has a wide variety of high quality food, snacks and drinks to choose from at semi reasonable prices. I choose a croissant and an orange juice as I intended on eating breakfast once landed.


After flying over the Alps and over Rome we started our very scenic descent into Naples. Seeing castles and Mt Vesuvius was truly breathtaking. The seats were somewhat comfortable and the leg room wasn’t great.



But I was grateful to have the seat back pocket as it was a place to store my cameras and tablet after retrieving them from my bag in the overhead locker.


Let’s face it, unless you have a lot of games on your phone, you are going to get bored. But I found the in-flight magazine a great way to spend a bit of time as it provided interesting articles and travel advice, unlike the Ryanair magazine which is constantly trying to sell you something.

As I was disembarking the aircraft at 9:30 am I was thanked for flying with Easyjet, once again with a smile. The cabin crew were very friendly throughout the whole flight despite the early start and other disruptive passengers. Regardless of the leg room and the whole one bag policy I would definitely fly with them again in the very near future.

28 views2 comments

2 Comments


Unknown member
May 26, 2018

Well done....I never flew with easy jet before so this really helps because i am flying with them this summer😂😂

Like

Unknown member
May 17, 2018

Nice article! Only critique would be to proofread your work. It might also be a good idea to choose whether you are writing as a singular person or as a group. You tended to alternate quite a bit from writing as "I" to "We" . Besides that it was a very good article.

Like
bottom of page